Geauga-Trumbull Solid Waste Management District

State law requires each Ohio County to establish or join other counties to form a solid waste management district. Geauga and Trumbull Counties formed the Geauga-Trumbull Solid Waste Management District (District) in 1993.

The Geauga-Trumbull Solid Waste Management District is responsible for implementing a solid waste plan designed to achieve goals determined by the Ohio EPA for waste reduction, recycling, and reducing reliance on landfills. Funding for our District is received through a contract fee with landfills and transfer stations that agree to accept solid waste from the counties of Geauga and Trumbull. These fees are then used to provide programs and services to residents that include household hazardous waste collection, scrap tire collection, appliance recycling, and recycling drop-off sites.

Local Accomplishments

  • Over 3,000 participants yearly in the annual Great American Cleanup.
  • 1997 to 2016 the District recycled 104,178 tons of recyclables. Or 208,356,100 pound.
  • District sponsors 53 community drop-off sites.
  • 300 educational presentations yearly
  • In one day at our HHW facility, October 25, 2017 we had 455 cars.
  • One day Geauga appliance collection received 82 Freon based appliances.

Our Staff

Jennifer Jones

Joe Merlo
Special Projects Coordinator 

Tom Hartzell
Foreman of Operations; Safety and Maintenance
Lisa Smith
District Administrator 

Stacee Stinedurf

Andrew Thomas
Operations Coordinator 

County Commissioners

Geauga County Commissioners
James Dvorak
Timothy Lennon
Ralph Spidalieri
Trumbull County Commissioners
Mauro Cantalamessa
Frank Fuda
Daniel Polivka
Trumbull County Collection Facility
5138 Enterprise Blvd.
Warren, Ohio 44481
PH. 330-675-2673

Appliances & Electronics (e-waste)
Accepted year-round 
Monday - Friday: 9:00am - 4:30pm

​Household Hazardous Waste (HHW)
Collected during spring and summer months only 
April 22, 2020 to Oct. 31, 2020
Wed: 9:00am - 5:00pm