Geauga-Trumbull Solid Waste Management District

Please Note: The Geauga-Trumbull Solid Waste Management District is not responsible for your waste, recycling, or bulk pickup. For those issues, you will need to contact your waste hauler.

Mission of the District

Our mission is to educate and encourage waste reduction, recycling, & litter prevention efforts in Geauga and Trumbull Counties. The District provides programs and services that include drop-off recycling locations, two collection facilities accepting household hazardous waste, electronics, and appliances, funding to communities to host scrap tire collections, and other environmental programs. 

Our District is governed by the our Board of Directors, made up of the six commissioners for Geauga and Trumbull Counties. A Policy Committee, made up of 15 community members representing public, business, and private residents acts as an advisory committee to help develop and oversee our District activities. 

What is a Solid Waste District?

Solid waste management districts are government agencies established by Ohio state law. The Ohio EPA  requires each Ohio county to establish or join other counties to form a solid waste management district. Geauga and Trumbull Counties formed the Geauga-Trumbull Solid Waste Management District in 1993.

The responsibilities and duties of each District fall into two broad categories:

  • To prepare and maintain a comprehensive Solid Waste Management Plan, and measure progress toward its goals by collecting detailed statistics on recycling and solid waste disposal.
  • To promote recycling, reuse, and reduction of solid waste through educational and informational programs, support of recycling businesses and organizations, and the direct operation or support of actual collection events and programs.

Funding for our District is received through a contract fee with landfills and transfer stations that agree to accept solid waste from the counties of Geauga and Trumbull. These fees are then used to provide programs and services to residents that include household hazardous waste collection, scrap tire collection, appliance recycling, and recycling drop-off sites. 

Our Staff

Jennifer Jones

Office: (330) 675-7967

Lisa Smith

District Administrator
Office: (330) 675-2673

Andrew Thomas

Operations/Compliance Coordinator
Office: (330) 675-7969

Maria Lombana

Operations/Compliance Specialist
Office: (330) 675-2673

All staff can be reached toll free at (800) 707-2673

County Comissioners

Geauga County Commissioners
James W. Dvorak
Timothy C. Lennon
Ralph Spidalieri

Trumbull County Commissioners
Mauro Cantalamessa
Niki Frenchko
Denny Malloy

Trumbull Collection Facility
5138 Enterprise Blvd. NW
Warren, Ohio 44481

Tuesdays & Wednesdays   10 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Geauga Collection Facility
12685 Merritt Rd.
Chardon, OH 44024

Thursdays & Fridays             10 a.m. – 3 p.m.